An Unlikely Athlete (and Role Model!)

10 Nov

As I’ve mentioned before, I’m not a natural athlete. I’ve struggled with my weight for a number of years and I’ve always disliked participating in most team sports because I felt like I was bringing the rest of my team down. Considering those things, I never expected that I could be a fitness role model. However, over the years I’ve noticed that, surprisingly, I have become one.

After completing my first marathon about eight years ago, I noticed that many friends and coworkers were inspired to sign up for one after seeing me check that accomplishment off of my own life list. They’d ask me about training, look me up and down to take in my figure, which is not rippled with muscle and looks pretty average, and then shortly afterward decide to sign up for a marathon themselves. I honestly think that those people thought that if their klutzy, un-athletic friend could do it, they could to.

Here I am at the finish of marathon #2, which took me 5 hours and 9 minutes, my best time yet.

At first, I was slightly offended that people would think to themselves, “if Jess can do it, I definitely can.” But now, I love that! Even though I wasn’t blessed with a natural athletic talent, I am able to make people realize that they can do more than they ever thought fitness-wise. Over the years, as I’ve watched people observe my athletic quests and then sign up for their own shortly after, I’ve realized that that is my talent. That’s something I’d never trade for a first place finish.

Leave a comment

The Power Puff Chronicles

The Girly Girl's Guide to Training

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging